The Psychology of Favorites

I have trouble committing to my favorite things. When someone asks me which food I love the most or the color I couldn’t live without, I have always had trouble answering.

Some psychologists believe that people who cannot decide on their favorite things have at least one of a few issues:

  1. This is the beginning stage of commitment issues. If you can’t commit to something as small as a  song, you couldn’t possibly commit to a person.
  2. You are unfulfilled. You subconsciously feel that you do not have enough life experience to make a decision.
  3. You are emotionally underdeveloped, therefore incapable of syncing an internal response with an external thing.
  4. You are a control freak. Because you have not listened to every song or tried every type of pasta, you feel as though any answer you gave would be either dishonest or without indisputable evidence.
"So, you can't decide if your favorite food is pizza. How do you feel about that?"

“So, you can’t decide if your favorite food is pizza. How do you feel about that?”

Perhaps if you are having problems with one of the above things, indecision is a symptom. I’m not saying that these psychologists are wrong, but I think one more reason should be added to the list:

  1. You are human! You are allowed to change your mind! If this week your movie of choice is Moulin Rouge, but then you see Frozen and decide its better, who says you can’t give a new answer?! Your taste buds change all the time, why can’t your choices change with it?

For most, I don’t think this is an “issue.” I think this is normal! If you never changed your mind, your life would be very boring. When I was younger, I loved American cheese and struggled with any color that wasn’t pink. If my likes and dislikes never strayed from a list I developed at age three, that should be considered emotionally underdeveloped. Amiright?

Concluding my rant, I will continue to change my mind. If I want to wear leather today and go with all floral and lace tomorrow, I will! By the week, by the day, I will alter my favorites to suit whoever I decide to be.

Who knows? Maybe I'll decide my favorite thing to do is dress up like an ice cream cone and chase unsuspecting adults in parking lots. I DO WHAT I WANT! Source: thecostumeland.com

Who knows? Maybe I’ll decide my favorite thing to do is dress up like an ice cream cone and chase unsuspecting adults in parking lots. I DO WHAT I WANT!
{Source: thecostumeland.com}

 

So whenever someone asks me about my favorite things, I have learned to respond with, “It depends on the day.”

 

xx Courtney

P.S. I do not know where the psychology information officially came from. I read about it while I was taking a psychology course. The information provided was repeated through my mostly reliable memory!

2 thoughts on “The Psychology of Favorites

  1. I don’t think of myself as an “all time favorite” kind of person either. These things usually change. Though I can give you an all time favorite book and movie:
    “Till We Have Faces” by C.S. Lewis
    and
    The Royal Tenenbaums

    So so good. Too good to not be elevated above else, to the end of time 😉

Leave a Reply

